May 3, 2011

9-member advisory board to support president U Thein Sein

Myanmar has formed an advisory board to the president U Thein Sein, tasking them to submit advice to the president with regard to economic, political and legal affairs respectively, local media reported Tuesday.

The president's nine-member advisory board include U Ko Ko Hlaing, a retired colonel and vice-chairman of the Myanmar Writers and Journalists Association, Dr Nay Zin Latt, general secretary of Myanmar Hoteliers Association, U Ye Tint, former editor of the " Mirror" daily , Dr. U Myint, an economist, Sit Aye, a retired police officer, Dr. Tin Hla Bo, U Than Kyaw and Daw Khin Myo Myint of the Foreign Ministry, said the Voice and the Myanmar Newsweek.

Abolishing the former State Peace and Development Council, newly elected president U Thein Sein, with his union government cabinet, was sworn in to office on March 30.

The new president vowed to operate his government as good governance and clean government.

Source: Xinhua